The Programme

Four tracks of specialization: the EWEM is divided in four tracks (specializations), along the energy conversion chain: Wind Physics, Rotor Design, Electric Power Systems and Offshore Engineering, transversally connected by its application to Wind Energy Technology. A schematic representation of the structure of the programme is presented below.


Didactic approach: the student builds the specific knowledge of the MSc track and profile through courses, practical courses and assignments/projects, complemented by an internship (optional; see below) and a supervised final MSc project. The consolidation of the theoretical content is made by a range of experimental and computational assignments.

To expose the student to the state-of-the-art and new challenges in Wind Energy, the programme is complemented by the EWEM Summer/Spring school event, regular EWEM guest lectures and symposia by guest lecturers from associated partners.

EWEM track structure: each EWEM is a  two-year joint programme (120 ECTS) with distinct elements, among which:

  • Introduction: lectured at DTU, it consists of the course  Wind Turbine Technology and Aerodynamics (10 ECTS) and other core and elective courses specific per chosen track. The Wind Turbine Technology and Aerodynamics course introduces the EWEM students to the wide array of wind energy technology, and to historical, economical as well as political issues related to wind energy, emphasizing the technical concept and the conditions for innovation.
  • Internship (6-9 ECTS): this subject is only compulsory for students of the Wind Physics track. For other students this is an elective. Students can choose to do an internship with EWEM associated partners or  in other institutions, as long as the institution and the content are accepted by the university awarding the ects for the internship. Students develop skills evaluating professional standards in respect to sustainable development, project and risk management, value management, health and safety management, knowledge management, business operation and organisational culture, policies and processes.
  • MSc thesis (30-45 ECTS): the thesis work can be developed at any of the partner institutions, associated partners or other wind energy institution and must be jointly supervised by supervisors from the two diploma awarding partners of each track, plus a possible third local supervisor. The topic (including possible involvement of a third party) is agreed upon by the student together with the two degree awarding partners, verifying feasibility and quality of the research questions and methodology. The thesis is an individual in-depth research or expert design project. Students can take an in-depth mono disciplinary thesis project or link his thesis to a multidisciplinary project. For the track Wind Physics, the thesis work is 30 ECTS. For the remaining tracks, thesis work is 45 ECTS; this consists of 15 ECTS of thesis definition work which must be performed during the 3rd semester (literature review, definition of the research question, definition of methodology and selection of tools) and 30 ECTS thesis development and reporting in the 4th semester.